Thomas J. Meade, PhD

Thomas J. Meade, PhD, received a B.S. in Chemistry, his M.S. in Biochemistry and his Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry. After completing a NIH postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard Medical School, he was a postdoctoral fellow at the California Institute of Technology in the laboratory of Professor Harry B. Gray. In 1991 he joined the Division of Biology and the Beckman Institute at Caltech.

In 2003, he moved to Northwestern University where he is currently the Eileen Foell Chair in Cancer Research and Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Molecular & Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Physiology, and Radiology, as well as the Director of the Center for Advanced Molecular Imaging (CAMI).

Professor Meade’s research focuses on bioinorganic coordination chemistry and its application in research that include biological molecular imaging, electron transfer processes and the development of electronic biosensors for the detection of DNA and proteins.  He has received numerous awards and founded three biotech companies, Clinical Micro Sensors, PreDx and Ohmx which are developing hand-held devices for protein and DNA detection and bioactivated MR contrast agents for in vivo imaging of cancer.

Selected Honors

  • Tianjin University National Teaching Award: Health Science Platform (2018)

  • Franklin Award: Chemistry Department: Stony Brook University (2017)

  • Elected to the National Academy of Inventors (2017)

  • Mahler Lecturer, Chemistry Department, University of Texas, Austin (2016)

  • Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (2016)

  • Associate Editor, Chemical Science (2016)

  • Chemistry Inorganic Division Chair, Northwestern University (2015)

  • Fellow, American Association of Advancement of Science (2014)

  • Catalyst Award, Northwestern University and City of Evanston (2014)

  • Douglas G. Hill Memorial Lecturer, Duke University (2014)

  • Fellow of the World Molecular Imaging Society (2012)

  • Fellow of the American Chemical Society (2011)

  • Society for Molecular Imaging Annual Exceptional Achievement Award

  • Musselman Award for Visiting Scientist (2010)

  • Illinois Biotechnology Industry Organization (iBIO) iCON Innovator Award (2009)

  • Miller Professor, University of California Berkeley (2009)

  • Northwestern University Excellence in Teaching Award (2008)

  • William Beaumont Award: Wayne County Medical Society (2007)

  • Allen & Constance Ford Distinguished Award, Case Western Reserve University (2006)

  • Eileen Foell Chair in Cancer Research, Northwestern University (2005)

  • Elected President – Society of Molecular Imaging – Membership>1,000 Chair (2005)

  • Committee- Imaging in 2020 IV (2005)

  • FMC Award – Princeton University (2004)

  • Elkin Distinguished Investigators Cancer Lecturer, Emory University (2003)

  • Neuroscience Award Lecture, Society for Neuro-Oncology (November 2002)

  • National Academy of Engineering Lecturer, Cleveland, Ohio (2000)

  • Pendergast Lecturer, University of Pennsylvania (1999)

  • American College of Neuropharmacology Lecturer (1999)

  • Caltech Grubstakes Award (1996, 1998)

Startup Companies

  • Clinical MicroSensors

  • Metaprobe

  • PreDx

  • Ohmx

  • Sequester

Meade Group at Northwestern © 2019